Elyea Named Coach of the Year; Four Earn All-Conference Honors

Elyea Named Coach of the Year; Four Earn All-Conference Honors

HIGH POINT, N.C. -- Belmont Abbey had four players named All-Conference Carolinas, while Toni Elyea was named Coach of the Year, the league announced Saturday afternoon at its annual championship awards banquet.

Senior libero Sarah Kenney was a first-team selection, while Mackenzie Chrapliwy and Cassidy Bonito were named to the second team. Brianna Morgheim was a member of the third team.

Kenney was also named as the conference's Elite 23 Award winner, new to the repertoire this year. Modeled after the NCAA's Elite 90 Award, it is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA at their respective championship site. Kenney has a 3.912 GPA in business management.

Elyea wins Coach of the Year after leading the Crusaders to a 22-9 record, which included a 12-2 league record and an outright North Division title.


Women's All-Conference First Team

Julie Ward, King

Jessica Gray, Emmanuel

Olivia Johnson, Southern Wesleyan

Kaytlin Elkins, Barton

Julie de Blanck, Emmanuel

Sarah Kenney, Belmont Abbey

Stephanie Hardy, Emmanuel


Women's All-Conference Second Team

Paige Beisecker, North Greenville

Allie Cullens, Barton

Madyson Lousignont, Limestone

Annie Beisecker, North Greenville

Mackenzie Chrapliwy, Belmont Abbey

Aysha Avery, Emmanuel

Cassidy Bonito, Belmont Abbey


Women's All-Conference Third Team

Tristyn Lozano, King

Mia Cotton, Emmanuel

Katy Torgerson, Erskine

Mia McKensey, Emmanuel

Brianna Morgheim, Belmont Abbey

Erin Kennedy, Limestone

Angelica Acevedo, Barton


Offensive Player of the Year

Julie de Blanck, Emmanuel

Defensive Player of the Year

Aysha Avery, Emmanuel

Freshman of the Year

Julie Ward, King

Coach of the Year

Toni Elyea, Belmont Abbey

Elite 23 Award

Sarah Kenney, Belmont Abbey